top of page

Poetry Regarding Identity Loss


CULTURAL SURVIVAL

Written by Meg Nezaj (c)2016

Featured Artwork: "Celebrating Diversity" by Meg Nezaj

--Version 1--

Why do I live? What to live for? No place to call home Treading through dry land I dream Of turbulant rain To wash out Confusion and pain Drench my feet Into the earth To feel, to belong Like a rock on a seabed Never reaching the shore Ethnic torture Like a fish tossed above – displaced Like a frozen stream – defeated Like a mangoe covered in snow How will its beauty be told? Like an olive tree Planted in sand How will it grow? I open my eyes And all I see Mixed races All staring at me They say this is the way But my heart beats To a distant sound Everything is lost All of me.

--Version 2--

I`ve lost my way My heart`s map torn Where is my home? They say This is the way But my heart beats To a distant sound I close my eyes And dream Of turbulant rain To wash out Confusion and pain Drench my feet Deep into the earth To feel my worth Like a rock on a seabed Never reaching the shore My identity un-defined Like a fish tossed in the heavens

displaced and disconnected So I head to the mountain ridge There I find new freedom Leave me alone!

--Version 3--

My soul

Is aching in dispair Where is my home? Treading through dry land I dream of turbulent rain To wash out confusion and pain I drench my feet Into the earth To feel and belong Like a rock on the seabed Never reaching the shore Ethnic torture Like a fish tossed in the heavens Displaced, defeated My sacred land has become a warzone Protect me from extinction Brother, sister Embrace me I`m alot like you I have a soul I want to matter! --Version 4-- I feel alone all day I moan Where do I call home? Treading through dry land I dream of turbulant rain To wash out Confusion, pain Drench my feet into the earth To sense I belong Like a rock on the seabed Never reaching ashore Like a fish tossed in the air

I`m displaced in dispair So I climb the mountain`s edge There awaits amity

--the end--

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Meg
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page